Organizing Committee

At the FIS congress on May 25, 2006, it was decided in Villamova Portugal that the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 2011 are to be held in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. On January 5th, 2007, the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships Organizing Committee GAP 2011 was officially registered as the "FIS Alpine Ski-WM 2011 Veranstaltungs GmbH", a limited liability company subsidiary of the German Ski Federation. All groups concerned with the organization, the German Ski Association, the Markt Garmisch-Partenkirchen and the Ski-Club Garmisch are represented in the executive committee of the Veranstaltungs GmbH. The Organizing Committee is divided into a strategic and an operational entity.

The Strategic Entity

The strategic entity of the organizing committee consists of the executive committee, the honorary board, the advisory committee and the coordinating committee.

The Executive Committee

The executive committee is governed by DSV-president Alfons Hörmann. Vice president is the major of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Thomas Schmid. Other members are Miriam Vogt (president of the Bavarian Ski Association), Thomas Pfüller (secretary general of the DSV), Christian Neureuther, Wodan Lichtmess (director of the Gemeindewerke Garmisch-Partenkirchen), Florian Hilleprandt and Dr. Peter Samstag (both board members of the Ski-Club Garmisch).

The Honorary Board

The honorary board is composed of persons of outstanding merit in politics and sports. Rosi Mittermaier, Dr. Erwin Huber und district administrator Harald Kühn are supporting the organizing committee in social and political questions. Since February 2009 also Dr. Thomas Bach (Vice President IOC, President DOSB) is part of the honorary board.

Advisory Committee

The advisory committee acts in an advisory capacity. It is consisting of the experts in finances, Helmut Schreyer and Manfred Baldauf, the experts in legal matters, Franz Steinle and Gerhard Dambeck, as well as the expert for the organization of major sports events, Michael Maurer (Organizing Committee for the Four Hills Tournament).

Coordinating Committee

The coordinating committee is represented by Sarah Lewis, secretary general of the FIS, Marc Jörg and Ingolfur Hannesson, members of the European Broadcasting Union, Christian Pirzer of the marketing agency Tridem Sports and the national hoast broadcasters, ZDF and ARD. The coordinating committee is meeting in regular intervals to discuss the development of the WSC projects and to coordinate the common course of action.

The Operative Entity

The operative entity is lead by Peter Fischer and Walter Vogel of the managing board. The managing directors guide and coordinate the aims, functions and responsibilities of the individual resorts. There are 13 departments divided into:

  • Administration
  • Accreditation
  • Accomodation/ Tourism
  • Environment
  • Events
  • Logistics
  • Marketing
  • Media
  • Race Organization
  • Security
  • Technology/ Temporary Constructions
  • Volunteers

 Here you find the Organizing Team

cacheid: 20c5ba05f0a2293987c08cbbcfd27f32